How Will I Ever Get There??

I ask myself this question so many times, it may just one day make my head spin and fall off.. How will I get there? I read a TON of health related blogs, food blogs, raw blogs…etc and they all give you the best advice. But how many of us actually go out and TAKE the advice given to us!!

After reading a great inspirational blog, I will eat well and excercise one day and by the end of that day, I say to myself “I worked hard today, I deserve to eat a box of doughnuts!” AM I INSANE?? In reality, I haven’t taken any of thier advice at all.. for this I am guitly.

So how do we get back on track when there is no track to follow. How do you program your brain to say no to our addictions. I am addicted to sugar. More then ever I want to be healthy, but I keep making the most horrid decisions!! So how will I ever achieve my goals??

So I came up with a plan. I am going to focus on only a few things at a time so I do not get overwhelmed and quit cold turkey. I am going to do this in a few “simple” steps and hopefully I will start to see a change.

So some Goals I want to accomplish are:

1. Be 100% Vegetarian, I sometimes have meat but it usually never agrees with me, yet I love with stuff my face with cheeseburgers.

2. Look into having a raw diet. Research has shown that a raw diet will cure you of almost all illnesses. I work at a Hospital and most of my nurses and doctors agree with me, that eating clean is the way to go if you have the time to prepare and money for fresh foods.

3. Gym- I have 2 memberships to 2 different gyms. One is at work and one is at home. My goal here is to run 3-4 times during the week at work and then weight 3-4 a week at my other gym..

There, that’s 2 things I want to accomplish. But here is my obsticle. I work 3 jobs, 1 FT and 2 PT. Finding the time to do all of this will be quite a challenging.

I will change my life around and I know it will not happen over night but I am going to give it another shot.

Thanks you all for your support

xoxo Ash

3 Comments

  1. Kathryn said,

    June 20, 2009 at 1:36 am

    Ash,
    I think that if you want to make real long term life changes you have to do it slowly and change the way you look at some things.
    -make small changes and they will add up
    -always take the stairs and park a little farther away
    -if you make one slip the whole day is not shot because it is for life, we live in moments not days.
    -read every label, for fast food look it up on line, even if you say i will never eat that again you probably will (most of us do)
    -know the calorie count of your “guilty pleasures”
    -every once in awhile indulge in your “guilty pleasure” , for me it is a 5 guys double cheeseburger w/ fried onions grilled mushrooms LTKM, this was my mothers day dinner
    -if you can, learn to cook and put love and time into it, know which veggies are better for you when lightly cooked …i.e. spinach – more calcium… tomatoes- licopein(sp?)
    -spend time picking your food, become aware/connected with what you eat, this always makes the food taste better

    Sorry to ramble,

    Kathryn

  2. June 22, 2009 at 3:12 am

    Thanks for the great tips Kathryn!! I will for sure be using them on a regular basis!! 🙂

  3. smallchangesaddup said,

    June 22, 2009 at 2:11 pm

    As you can probably tell from the name of my blog, I think your one step at a time approach is definitely a good one. It can be really overwhelming to change your whole lifestyle overnight. I do the same. I strive to be perfect, then when I mess up one single thing I think of myself as a failure. What I should do is think how far I’ve come and focus on the positives rather than the negatives.
    You seem to have the right attitude, I’m impressed 🙂 I’ve been thinking of Vegetarianism so will be interested to hear how you get on.

    http://smallchangesaddup.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

